RSS

Week 6 Tutorial

26 Oct

Question 1

a. 9 aspects associated with flow:

1. There are clear goals every step of the way
2. There is immediate feedback to one’s actions
3. There is a balance between challenges and skills
4. Action and awareness are merged
5. Distractions are excluded
6. There is no worry of failure
7. Self-consciousness disappears
8. Sense of time becomes distorted
9. The activity becomes autotelic

b. There is a definite relationship between the aspects of flow and creativity, I believe you will achieve some sort of flow when you are really enjoying what you are creating. In relation to my work, I think that when the creativity is forced I will not produce my best work, and it is not enjoyable. Of all the theories of creativity that we have discussed in this semester, I think I can relate to this one the most in terms of my creative practice.
Csikszentmihalyi also states that happiness is achieved after flow, as happiness is a distraction from the task, I agree with this as I find that when I am working I’m not really feeling anything as I am focused on the task at hand. Once there is an end result that is decent, then I will feel happy as I have achieved what I set out to do.

Question 2.

As I still live at home I am kind of restricted in having a creative environment or atmosphere, especially confined to such a small space. Obviously, the ideal situation would be to have a studio, but right now I just try to keep a little space that kind of inspires me or motivates me to be creative. I think if I had a larger space to work with, I would be more inclined to work way more often than I do now.
Other ways I keep a creative atmosphere is by always collecting information or pictures that I can use in my work, even if I don’t end up using them. Frequently I will go to websites such as booooooom!Escape Into Life and Art Sponge to look at other contemporary artists’ work as inspiration. I also use StumbleUpon as sometimes odd/interesting pictures or stories will come up which could inspire my work. So I find that by regularly looking at art and reading books, watching movies, listening to music always contributes to my create atmosphere.

References

Csikszentmihalyi, M. (1996). The Flow of Creativity. Creativity: Flow and the psychology of discovery and invention (pp. 107-126). New York: HarperCollins.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 26, 2011 in Tutorial

 

Leave a Reply

 
